INTRODUCTION - The District is a corporate and political subdivision of the state, established by the state soil conservation committee in 1950, organized in accordance with the purposes, provisions, powers and restrictions set forth within the Tennessee Soil Conservation District Law 43-14-201 through 43-14-223. The geographic and political boundaries of the District are the same as those of Carroll County. The District is a member of the Tennessee Association of Conservation Districts (TACD), and the National Association of Conservation Districts (NACD). This district is 1 of 95 districts in Tennessee and 1 of nearly 3,000 districts in the United States. The District works closely with NRCS, a Federal agency of USDA. The two entities along with TDA work together through a Memorandum of Understanding with the purpose of conserving soil and soil related natural resources on private agricultural land. The district board is responsible for developing the District’s Plan of Work. NRCS is responsible for providing technical assistance to private landowners through the local Soil & Water Conservation District program. In no way does NRCS have authority over the district nor does the district have authority over NRCS. Together the two form a powerful partnership.

MISSION STATEMENT – Our mission is to work with the farmers and agricultural landowners of Carroll County to ensure that the soil is used wisely; that it is conserved from generation to generation, therein maintaining and improving the soil’s productivity, the land’s value, the water quality of our streams, the quantity and quality of our wildlife, and the quality of life for the people living in and visiting Carroll County.

Non-Discrimination Statement: The Carroll County Soil & Water Conservation District does not discriminate on the basis of a person's race, color, national origin, gender, religion, age, disability, political beliefs, sexual orientation, and marital or family status.

                                                           Left to Right: Jerry White, Doris Smith, Tommy Surber, Allen Espey, Ricky Chandler

SCD Board Members